Separation Of Powers In Malaysia

December 28, 2016 General Studies

Separation Of Powers In Malaysia


We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

Malaysia is a country that practices Parliamentary Democracy and Constitutional Monarchy since achieving independence from British rule on August 31, 1957. The structure of government in Malaysia is very similar to what is practised in Great Britain. This is due to the fact that the Malay Peninsular, as Malaysia was formerly known, was a former British Colony and prior to its independence a commission was appointed to draft the Federal Constitution based on the system of parliamentary democracy as practised in Great Britain. This independent commission was called The Reid Commission. The Federal Constitution divides the structure of government to three different branches- Legislature, Executive, and, Judiciary . This concept is based on the theory of “separation of powers” as practised in Great Britain.

The theory of separation of powers was first introduced by Montesquieu (1689-1755), a French philosopher and author, in his book Spirit of the Laws (Esprit Des Lois, 1748) . This book was written based on Montesquieus observation while visiting England in comparison to what was happening in his homeland at that time. France was then ruled by Louis XVI who proclaimed “I am the state” which means that he is the absolute authority in the

executive, government, power, malaysia, constitution, parliament, judiciary, however, cabinet, yang, di-pertuan, agong, states, powers, minister, members, bills, federal, branch, president, dewan, congress, united, separation, prime, legislative, practised, laws, time, majority, judges, according, without, theory, salleh


I'm Amanda

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out